Sports News

GAF 2016/2017 WINNERS

The Gambia Armed Forces Football club (GAF FC) ended their eight years trophy drought in The Gambia Football Federation (GFF) 2016/2017 season in the first division league cup as champions. GAF FC won their first major trophy in 2003 with coach Teatawa and 2009 season under the leadership of the current Real De Banjul head coach Alas Sey.

The team was crowned Champions of the 2016/2017 season after playing all the 20 games of the league and emerged with 44 points under coach Ebou Jarra.
It could be recalled that Jarra took over from Warrant Officer Class One Pierre Gomez at the end of the 2015/2016 season after successfully guiding a second division team Tallinding United to first division. He kick started his duty with the Khaki boys with a country wide pre-season tour before the start of the league.
GAF FC were handed their medals and league cup trophy in Brikama Box Bar mini stadium by the honorable Minister of Youth and Sports Honorable Henry Gomez and the GFF President Mr Lamin Kabba Bajo. Bai Sonko of GAF was awarded a trophy as the most outstanding player in the league by Fly Travel Agency.
Speaking to journalists after the Brikama encounter, Coach Jarra thanked the GAF high Command, GAF FC Board management, the technical staff, players, fans club and the loved ones of the team for the support given throughout the campaign. He posited that the job is yet to be completed as GAF FC will be representing The Gambia in the CAF Continental Championship come next year and more will be expected from the Khaki boys.

Author: Ssgt Preirra Steven Paul